When Spellcheck Quits – I’m a Fantasy Writer

I’m a fantasy writer. Part of my job is digging up cool (unusual) names and making up names for people, places, creatures, plants, and things, but a couple weeks ago I was working on a project and spellcheck up and quit on me.

My initial reaction was: What just happened?

Immediately on its heels was: *falling out of the chair laughing* Spellcheck gave up on me!

I did talk to a few other fantasy authors who told me this has happened to them too around the 140k mark. I have had Word’s spellcheck throw some interesting hissy fits but I have never had it say “You have so many spelling and grammar errors, Word is no longer going to automatically show spellcheck suggestions anymore.”

This is probably the funniest accomplishment I have reached as a writer. Of course, I had to go through the slight inconvenience of manually spellchecking another 18k. But it wasn’t bad enough that I don’t want to ever make spellcheck quit again. πŸ˜‰ I consider it one of those funny quirks of being a fantasy writer and it was funny enough that it actually cheered me up after a week of wrestling with time trials and writer’s block. And now I want to make spellcheck quit again, teeheehee.

I’m a fantasy writer. It’s a lot more fun than even I expect sometimes. πŸ˜‰

 

2 thoughts on “When Spellcheck Quits – I’m a Fantasy Writer

  1. So funny! I got the same message this week while working on my book! I was initially annoyed, but I like your take on it and now I’m laughing too. πŸ™‚ Word used to allow you to add words to the dictionary, which was a great way to keep it from complaining about all of those fantasy names AND make sure they are always spelled right. Will have to see if it will still allow that.

    1. kimberlyrogerscfwriter

      Word still does but I don’t like adding words or names I only use a handful of times. If it’s a name I keep writing wrong, however, I do add the “correct” version to the dictionary. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment